Review of the Re-launched Pasha de Cartier Grille 41mm in Yellow Gold

Aug 02, 2022,15:23 PM
 

It was a long time wish coming true to acquire my first Cartier timepiece.  There are so many excellent choices and I'm so happy to bring home this very special timepiece.  Thanks Geo for his encouragement to share my review here.




A Brief History of Cartier Pasha

The Pasha de Cartier was first launched in 1985. The model name came from the Pasha Thami El Glaoui of Marrakech, a region in Morocco. Pasha is the title for a high level lord, outranked only by a sultan. The Pasha of Marrakech (from 1912 to 1956) was very rich and a royal customer of Cartier.

Cartier commissioned Mr. Gerald Genta in 1982 to design various models for Pasha. The goal was to make a sports watch and Mr. Genta was the best designer for the task (you know why). The designs of some complicated Pasha were sold at Sotheby's auction early this year. Pasha is among the iconic Genta designs, together with the Royal Oak, Nautilus and Ingenieur. We may see some pictures of the initial models below.

The first Pasha models were in 38mm cases, in precious metals first, then stainless steel. One of the calibers, 191, was based on Girard-Perregaux caliber 3100. It is interesting that two types of grids were made. One type is flat while the other type has a curved shape. More Pasha models were released including chronograph, GMT, moon-phase, and perpectual calendar. There were models with difference case sizes like 35mm and 42mm.





Picture and captions of the first generation Pasha in Europa Star Magazine in 1986 (one year after the unveiling of Pasha). 




A 38mm Pasha from 1987 owned by Geo. Still looking like new today.






A 38mm Pasha in yellow gold from the owner of Instagram account @monaco.watchclub. This model comes with a rotatable bezel. The obvious benefit of having the grid this way is the visibility of the date window.

Cartier paused Pasha production around 2010, as it tried to manage its vast offerings. However, the brand had a lot of requests from clients all over the world for Pasha to come back. Thus, in 2020, Cartier went ahead with the relaunching of the Pasha product line. The timing could not better, as the interests in vintage designs were so great. The case sizes were 35mm and 41mm to fit the modern taste. More models showed up in 2021 and 2022. It is again an entire model line for Pasha.

A Brand New Pasha Grille in 41mm Case


2022 Watches and Wonders saw the return of Pasha grille to the product lineup. It is a modern timepiece in every aspect, but with the classic Pasha elegance and style. Both the fluted crown cap and the crown are set with sapphire cabochons. The re-designed protective grid, with a curved profile rather than flat, is easier to remove and put back on. It comes with a black and a blue alligator leather straps. The QuickSwitch mechanism makes it a snap to change straps. There is no option for the bracelet though. A beautiful deployant buckle prevents a heavy watch like this from slipping by accident. The watch feels comfortable, balanced and secure to wear.

















A wrist shot of Pasha without the grille






Inside the Pasha grille is the caliber 1847 MC, where MC stands for “Manufacture Cartier”. This is a new movement introduced in 2015 with the Cartier Clé collection. 1847 MC powers the latest Santos collection re-designed in 2018 too. Measuring only 3.8 mm thick, it is suitable for thin and elegant watches. The escape mechanism has been designed with non-magnetic components. The power reserve is good for 42 hours, close to 2 full days. The 1847 MC is more plainly finished than Cartier's other manufacture movements. Nothing wrong with that, as it is geared toward stability and performance. Notice that the balance wheel is mounted tightly on a bridge at two points. The rotor incorporates a durable lever system. 100 meters watch resistance.

The timing accuracy of my Pasha was +1.0 secs per day as measured on a time-grapher. Timing error measurements (7/29/2022) were listed below:

  • Dial up: 0

  • Dial down: +3

  • Crown up: +3

  • Crown down: -1

  • 12 up: 0

  • 12 down: +1

  • Averaged error: +1.0 secs/day

What an incredible performance! May I say that the 1847 MC is quite like the movements from Rolex and Tudor? Plain looking yet reliable and getting the job done.





Case-back of the Pasha 41mm showing the in-house movement 1847 MC

Conclusions

There are so many iconic watch models produced by Cartier in more than a century of time-span. It is a daunting task for any watch enthusiast to pick her/his first Cartier watch. But it will be a very enjoyable journey for sure. I’m feeling so awesome to bring home the Pasha with a grille as my first Cartier timepiece. I love it very much, as it just ticks so many boxes when choosing a watch to keep for the long term.

First, the quirky, daring and iconic design from Gerald Genta! Mr. Genta recalled that the inspiration for the AP Royal Oak was from memory of diver being fitted with a helmet on Geneva’s Bond de la Machine. The same images might provide the idea for the protective grille for Pasha (see picture below). Making it a removable grid was such a genius idea! The watch turns into a more stately dress watch without the grille. Such a versatile piece!

The name and story behind the Pasha collection are quite fascinating too. It is a catchy name for sure. We watch lovers are suckers for stories.

The new Pasha is powered by an in-house movement with impressive timing accuracy. There are many innovations devoted to the new model, including the new construction for the grille and the easy strap change mechanism. It is a very well built watch with the latest technology know-how.

The new Pasha grille will be relatively rare due to the “One Shot” production. The production is driven by client orders and will last only for a short period of time.

Lastly, the Pasha grille is a fun watch to own! Think about the removable grid, the protective crown cap and the interexchange strap! Not to mention the secret location for engraving that Cartier will do for free.







Thank you very much for reading!  Have a great day!

This message has been edited by FabR on 2022-08-02 22:28:48


More posts: nautilusPashaRoyal OakSantosTudor

  login to reply

Comments: view entire thread

 

Tremendous review of the Pasha …

 
 By: Cpt Scarlet : August 2nd, 2022-17:43
and thank you for taking the time to share this with us. I completely agree with you about so many iconic watch models being produced by Cartier and the Pasha design is unique. Best regards Captain

Thanks a lot, Captain, for the kind words!

 
 By: Sfwatchlover : August 2nd, 2022-18:16
It was my great pleasure to share my experience and joys in getting this piece. This forum is very useful for me to do research before buying decisions. I was able to find so many interesting discussions on Pasha models including pictures from posts as fa... 

Thanks a lot :))

 
 By: Sfwatchlover : August 3rd, 2022-01:25

Excellent review of this amazing and iconic watch

 
 By: Watchonthewrist : August 2nd, 2022-18:53
A Pasha is Still on my list . Need to do some research which is best to add at some point Thanks again for this post

Thanks!

 
 By: Sfwatchlover : August 3rd, 2022-01:31
The prices on the secondary market for Pasha models seem quite reasonable. There is a model with GMT and power reserve indicator that looks quite good. I would guess that Cartier may re-introduce grille for the stainless steel Pasha as well soon. Enjoy yo... 

Thank you for this great review!

 
 By: Geo : August 2nd, 2022-18:59
This is what we should see more often, here at the Cartier forum. Congratulations on your new Pasha Grille. I tried the watch at W&W and I find the new model quite an improvement, especially, the larger crown that's easier to wind, and the way the grille ... 

Thanks a lot, Geo, for sharing your experience.

 
 By: Sfwatchlover : August 3rd, 2022-01:37
The 38mm models you and others own look very good to me! I hope to have a chance to compare with mine in the future. Yes, the option to add a grid is very nice for owners who bought the Pasha recently.

Thanks for a very instructive review of a significant model from a brand I admire from afar but never really studied in depth yet (my bad! ;-)

 
 By: FabR : August 2nd, 2022-22:30
I just took the liberty to correct the name of Pasha's (the man) nation in your writeup, out of clarity -- the rest is untouched. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you very much for correcting the spelling for me!

 
 By: Sfwatchlover : August 3rd, 2022-01:49
My bad for not checking it carefully! Thanks again 😊😊

Thanks for an excellent review of the Pasha.

 
 By: fernando : August 3rd, 2022-00:07
The grille completes it IMO. Here's my 38mm in SS. ...  

What a stunning piece and it still looks so new!

 
 By: Sfwatchlover : August 3rd, 2022-01:57
Yeah, agree that the grille makes it extra special. From the pictures I saw, it looked like that two kinds of grille were released. One is flat and one is curved. Yours and mine come with the curved design. Thanks a lot for sharing your Pasha! You took ex... 

Newfound appreciation

 
 By: Cookies : August 3rd, 2022-04:37
Wow after reading your review. I can start to appreciate the nuances of the Pasha. I’ve never encountered a Pasha in real life, or even seen it in a shop. The crown protection device is very unique, and I see it’s inspiration in another radically differen... 

Thanks for reading and I am really happy to hear that!

 
 By: Sfwatchlover : August 3rd, 2022-20:56
I went to search for pictures of Uboat watches, and they indeed have a similar design for the crown cap! Very interesting! Thanks again )